Recipe Kneads’ Meatball Sub Casserole

Looking for a quick, throw-it-together meal for a weeknight? Then, Recipe Kneads’ Meatball Sub Casserole is for you! Everything you need can easily be kept on hand for a delicious and satisfying meal the family will love.

In my usual fashion, I made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand and to make it a meal for just two. I had some Texas toast in the freezer, defrosted 4 pieces, and used that as my bread. I found another ingredient I didn’t have…mayo. So, I just mixed 1/2 cup of nonfat Greek yogurt with 4 oz of Neufchâtel cheese (subbed for cream cheese). To make a quick substitute for the Italian seasoning, I added a shake of garlic powder, dried oregano, and dried basil into the cheese-yogurt mixture. FYI, this made a little too much for the 4 pieces of bread. Then, I used 8 defrosted, turkey meatballs from Trader Joe’s to make it a bit more heart healthy. The rest of the recipe was smooth sailing: about 1/2 the cheese, 1/2 the sauce. I followed the cooking instructions, but would have let stay in the oven for an extra 10-15 minutes as it was still a bit cool in the middle. Nothing a few secs in the microwave couldn’t solve before we devoured it!

IMG_6262

IMG_6263

IMG_6264

Leave a Reply

