SCA Moms’ Shrimp and Grits

After nine years at McGavock High School, I started a new teaching job at my alma mater, St. Cecilia Academy. It has been an amazing change! I love the school culture, the girls, my colleagues, and the parents, too. Morgan says it is my milieu. For Catholic Schools Week, the SCA moms held a delightful luncheon for all the faculty/staff with cloth tablecloths and all. They served salad, cornbread, shrimp and grits, and homemade cakes. It is refreshing to feel valued, appreciated, and a little spoiled!!

Flash forward a month. I needed an idea for Morgan’s Valentine’s present. I haven’t felt like cooking since the fall, as I am five months pregnant, started a new job, and in grad school. I know that Morgan misses the home cooking and stress relief cooking brings me. So, I decided to give him a menu of meals for the week. I decided to try out the SCA Moms’ Shrimp and Grits recipe (see pic below)

Of course, I changed a few things. For example, I added chopped mushrooms since I had some in the fridge. Also, I added a healthy dash of Louisiana hot sauce. For the cheese, I used a mixture of 2% cheddar and an Italian blend (what I had on hand), but I love Monterey Jack and would totally use that instead. Morgan loved the yummy start to his week of meals and I’ll definitely make it again!

IMG_6249

IMG_6245

IMG_6246

Leave a Reply

