Turkey Tacos in Lettuce Cups

Since November, I have been using the app My Fitness Pal to track what I eat daily. I have Crohn’s disease and autoimmune pancreatitis. To keep these inflammatory diseases in check, I have been on steroids for pretty much 2 years straight. This round of steroids, I have had no full sensation until I feel sickly full. Keeping track of my calories has not only helped me lose some pesky steroid pounds, but also know when to stop eating without feeling sick.

Since I am tracking my calories, I have become more creative with what I am consuming. I choose lean meats, add veggies whenever possible, and limit carbs/sugar. Of course, I have days when I just need pizza and a piece of dark chocolate, but I have adopted healthier eating habits overall.

This recipe really embodies the healthy choices I have been trying to incorporate into my everyday life, while utilizing spice and flavor.

1 lb lean ground turkey (93/7)
Mexican Spice Blend (see recipe below) or an envelope of taco seasoning
1 red bell pepper, diced
1/2 onion, diced
1 Tbs tomato paste
3 Tbs water
Sea salt
1 head of iceberg lettuce

Toppings: 2% cheese, Greek yogurt, Wholy Guacamole, jalapeños, salsa, cilantro, chopped green onions, etc.

Sauté the onions and peppers over medium heat with just a bit of cooking spray. Add the turkey and brown. Stir in the spices, tomato paste, and water. Let the flavors mingle over low heat while you prep the toppings. Serve the tacos in crisp, iceberg lettuce cups.

Mexican Spice Blend
1 Tbs chili powder
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp chipotle seasoning (I had this on hand, but it can be omitted)
1/2 tsp red pepper flake

20140317-213900.jpg

20140317-213933.jpg

20140317-213942.jpg

Leave a Reply

