True Detective Red Beans and Aunt Babs’ BBQ Shrimp

I can’t wait for the season finale of True Detective tonight! After hearing Morgan and his buddies raving about the show last weekend, I decided to play catch-up. I watched the entire season, sans finale, last week during our three “snow” days. I was hooked…and I love a theme! So, this Louisiana inspired, finale meal came from reading many recipes on Pinterest, emailing with a friend who went to college in NOLA, and searching through my recipes for one my aunt shared with me years ago. The result is a tasty meal of spicy, smoky red beans with rice and richly-flavored BBQ shrimp with baguette for dipping. So grab a Lone Star (or Abita) and dig in!

True Detective Red Beans
1 lb red beans
1 lb package of andouille sausage (my package was 12 oz)
1/2 lb pork jowl bacon (mine was actually 0.65 lb)
1 onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
6 cloves garlic, minced (I love garlic)
2 Tbsp tomato paste
2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbsp hot sauce
3 bay leaves
Red Bean Spice Blend (I made my own, but you can sub 1 Tbsp Old Bay and 1 Tbsp Cajun seasoning)
4 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth)

Red Bean Spice Blend
2 tsp paprika
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp dried parsley
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
Pinch of dried mustard
Pinch of ground cinnamon
Pinch of ground cloves
Pinch of mace
Pinch of ground ginger

Pick through and rinse the red beans. Put beans in a bowl and fill with water to about two inches over the beans. Soak overnight.
Put all ingredients in the crockpot. I like to layer the veggies, sausage, seasoning, and beans. Cook on high for 5 hours. It will bubble. Stir every hour or so. Serve with white rice and chopped green onions.

Aunt Babs’ BBQ Shrimp
1 lb shrimp
1 stick butter
4 Tbsp olive oil
4 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 bay leaf
3 tsp fresh rosemary (I threw in 2 springs)
3 tsp black pepper
3 tsp chili powder
1 1/2 tsp garlic salt

Add all ingredients except shrimp to a deep broiler pan (I used a Pyrex). Place shrimp on top. Bake a 350 degrees for 5 minutes, baste, and bake another 5 minutes. Cool. Eat with French bread. Dip in basting sauce.
*Her original recipe calls for unpeeled shrimp (the cook time is longer), but I was feeling a little lazy and changed it to peeled, deveined shrimp.

20140309-213913.jpg

20140309-213923.jpg

20140309-213932.jpg

20140309-213942.jpg

20140309-213952.jpg

20140319-213425.jpg Me and Morgan nervously awaiting the season finale of True Detective.

Leave a Reply

