Microwave Mashed Cauliflower

I first started my love affair with mashed cauliflower during a random Ruby Tuesday dining experience. I was looking for a healthy side item to go with my sliders and it was love at first bite. I decided I had to recreate the recipe at home.

1 frozen package cauliflower florets
1/4 cup water
1 Tbs milk
2 Tbs instant potatoes (I like to use butter flavored)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper

In a microwave-safe bowl, add the frozen cauliflower with 1/4 cup of water. Microwave for 12 minutes (might depend on your microwave). Using a potato masher, mash the cauliflower with the remaking water and milk. Add the instant potatoes and seasonings and mix. You can also add any herbs or a pad of butter at this point also. If they have gotten too cold during the mashing, nuke them for a few minutes and serve.

20140226-182431.jpg

Leave a Reply

