Cooking Light’s Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie

Remember those frozen chicken pot pies that your mom kept on hand just in case a week got busy? They are delicious, but def not the healthiest of choices. Cooking Light’s Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie isn’t a solution for a busy night, but it is the perfect Sunday dinner. It’s filling, nutritious and nostalgic. And now, how I made it my own…I subbed some dried herbs for some of the fresh called for in the recipe. I added a 1/2 tsp each of dried sage, poultry seasoning, marjoram and tarragon. I had some fresh rosemary on hand and chopped that up. To make it even healthier, I used more carrots and celery than the recipe called for. I also added sliced mushrooms. The sauce didn’t thicken as much as I liked. So, I added 2 Tbsp of corn starch to help it along. Baking is not my specialty. I am just not that precise and don’t enjoy it as much as other forms of cooking. Instead of making my own dough, I got some help from a tube of biscuits at 100 cal a piece. Just make sure to keep an eye on them while they’re in the oven. This chicken pot pie is a better way to get that comforting meal without all the added fat and calories of the frozen alternative.

20140223-202620.jpg

20140223-202634.jpg

20140223-202652.jpg

Leave a Reply

