Martha Stewart’s Baked Eggplant Parm

Eggplant always reminds me of my grandmother, Cornelia Love. I have a vivid memory of thinking what a silly name eggplant was as I was eating it for the first time in her dining room. From sleepovers with “browndy” night caps to lounging in her living room telling stories to watching “I Love Lucy” to holiday curry suppers, I was lucky to spend so much quality time with her. I am deeply thankful for all of the memories and gifts passed down, especially her love of food and cooking.

Martha Stewart’s Baked Eggplant Parmesan is a health twist on an Italian classic. I decided to halve the recipe since it was just me and Morgan tonight (and we already have a ton of leftovers this week). To add texture, I chose panko breadcrumbs. I used 2% mozzarella and egg beaters as healthy substitutes. Instead of a jarred sauce, I made a quick, homemade tomato sauce. Overall, this proved a very tasty dish that I am sure my Grandma Love would have enjoyed.

Weeknight Tomato Sauce
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
2 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried basil
Handful fresh parsley, chopped (I had some on hand) or 1 tsp dried parsley
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp red chili flake (I like some spice)
3 small cans tomato sauce
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper

On medium heat, sauté the onion in the olive oil for 5 minutes. Add the herbs and spices and cook for about a minute. Pour in the tomatoes and sauce. Bring to a simmer. Turn down to low and let the flavors combine for about 10 minutes.

20140219-202902.jpg

20140219-202915.jpg

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

