Bev Cooks’ One-Pan Coconut Shrimp Noodle Bowl

I am obsessed with all Asian food!!! I could seriously eat it every day and had the opportunity to do so when I spent a month in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia during 2005. Since then, my cravings and cooking adventures have only grown. I am constantly on the look-out for tasty Asian recipes to try at home. This delish dish would have been buried in my massive (I have an addiction) Pinterest folder if not for my sister-in-law, Carrie, who reminded me of it on Saturday. And I am soooo glad she did!!! Bev Cook’s recipe for One-Pan Coconut Shrimp Noodle Bowls was easy to follow with familiar ingredients and minimal prep.

By now, y’all know that I tend to move into recipes and make them my own. In that spirit, I subbed light soy sauce for the fish sauce and parsley for the cilantro. I LOVE cilantro, but accidentally picked up parsley instead at Kroger. My bad…but the parsley still gave an herbaceous flavor. When I make this again, I might use both herbs. I did use chicken broth (the recipe said it was acceptable) because I had some open in the fridge. For the coconut milk, I chose the light option. Also, I added a splash of rice vinegar for additional acid to cut the richness of the coconut milk.

This creamy, slightly spicy, subtly sour, filling recipe hit the spot and will calm my Asian cravings…at least for a few days!

20140217-185733.jpg

Leave a Reply

