Italian Meatballs

Meatballs were one of the first things that I attempted to cook after moving into my first apartment after college (shoutout to Julie Pierotti and Blythewood Apts). I used a super traditional recipe, cooked them on the stovetop and didn’t get to eat until after 9pm. Over the years, I have simplified with a basic recipe for my Italian meatballs. Most of the ingredients you have in your kitchen. Add some whole wheat angel hair and a jar of light sauce and you have a healthy meal for a weeknight!

Cooking spray
1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
2 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried parsley
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
1 lb lean ground beef (I like 92/8 if I am cooking for myself)
1/4 onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Get out 2 cookie sheets, line with foil and spray with cooking spray. In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients (the first 9). Then, add the last four ingredients. Mix well with your hands. Be careful not to over mix as the meat will get tough. Form the mixture into walnut sized meatballs and place on the cookie sheets. Cook in the oven for 20-25 minutes. I know it isn’t a great habit, but I always cut a larger meatball in half to check if they are done (and have it for a pre-dinner snack). Enjoy!

20140203-184700.jpg

20140203-184742.jpg

Leave a Reply

